The Wheatfield Town Council elected its officers for the 2018 calendar year Thursday night, opting to retain Dean Stalbaum as president on a nomination by Councilman Jeff Moolinaar. Janet Moore, also nominated by Moolinaar, was elected vice-president.

The council also voted to keep the current committee assignments for its members. Stalbaum will continue to head sewer and drainage, Moolinaar police and streets, and Moore parks and cemeteries.

In other business Thursday:

• Town Building Inspector John Dyke reported that progress on the Casey’s General Store proposed for SR 10 is still slow. He told the council that an application to the Indiana Department of Environmental Management for a sewer line change is still awaiting approval by the state, and that approval may take up to 60 days.

“It seems to be one of the last hurdles to get those issues through,” Dyke said.

• Moolinaar reported that recent weather events left town streets ice-packed, with additional cleanup forthcoming when temperatures begin to moderate. He said efforts have been ongoing to keep street drains clear for when the ice and snow does begin to melt in earnest.

Stalbaum said the problem has been compounded by delays in shipments of road salt from the county, which ran short twice. “We use such a small amount compared to places further north like Valparaiso and Michigan City, so (larger county towns) going to get theirs first. (The salt) is contracted, so it is available.”

• The council approved an ordinance establishing just over 40 stop-sign intersections within town limits. Car and bicycle drivers who fail to stop at those intersections are liable for a $50 fine.

A full list of those intersections are available during normal business hours at the clerk’s office at the Wheatfield Municipal Building, 170 Grace St.