Courtney Sizemore

Photo by Tom Sparks

Junior Courtney Sizemore was one of twenty Kougar Spring sports athletes recently named to Northwest Crossroads All-Conference Honors.

WHEATFIELD — The Kankakee Valley High School Athletic Directors Office recently announced that 20 athletes at KVHS were named to their respective Northwest Crossroads Conference All-Conference teams based on their athletic prowess and performance. Additionally, 13 seniors were named to the NCC Academic All-Conference Honors team for their performance in the classroom.

Awarded NCC Academic All-Conference Honor were Matt DeGroot, Catherine Cavinder, Tori Evert, Sarah Martin, Taylor Miller, Hannah Tokarz, Garrett Brewster, Alex Gronkiewicz, Cameron Sheehy, Kaylee Barrett, Madeline Swart, Alexis Arambula and Aubrey Toppen.

For baseball, Nolan McKim and Tyler Feddeler both received All-Conference First Team Honors while Bradley Gannon was named to the Second Team and Tyler Fisher received an Honorable Mention.

For softball, Madeline Swart and Emma Sark were named to the First Team, Madey Flick was named to the Second Team and slugger Kaylee Barrett received an Honorable Mention.

For the boys’ track team, Second Team All-Conference honorees were Colton Wright in the 300m Hurdles and Drew Kirincic in the Pole Vault. Micah Adams was an Honorable Mention in the 3200m Run.

Girls’ track had the most honored. Freshman phenom Taylor Schoonveld was named First Team All-Conference after winning the high jump and Catherine Cavinder also received the top honor for the 800m run. Named to the Second Team was pole vaulter Kailee Tuesburg.

Receiving honorable mentions were Courtney Sizemore for the 100m dash, Megan Nannenga for the 100m hurdles and the 4x800m Relay Team of Taylor Miller, Emilee Wilson, Samantha Martin and Cat Cavinder.