HEBRON — The annual Hebron Fourth of July celebration kicked off at 7:45 in the morning with the ninth running of the Fireworks 5k Run & Walk. Over 130 runners and walkers undertook the race despite the torrid heat and stifling humidity with times and finishes determined by T & H Timing utilizing chip technology. Winners received a medal with their accomplishment etched on the back side.

The course starts at the middle school and heads across State Road 2 before winding through the nearby subdivisions and heading back to where it started. The course changed last year but is pleasant run by all accounts which cover mostly a flat topography that lends itself to personal best times. The race is also unique in that the start happens when fireworks are lighted.

The top overall and first male finisher was 23-year-old Elliot Granados, who cleared the course in 17:44.6 minutes which mean he averaged approximately 5:43 minute miles. Rounding out the top 10 after Granados, were Jasen Egolf, Jacob Stewart, Jackson Tuck, Joshua Tuck, Andrew Jankowski, Noah Weaver, Ty Maldonado, Daniel Henson and Connor Williams.

The top female finisher was 17-year-old Madison Elijah who finished 15th overall with a time of 21:13.8 minutes.

The youngest runners in the race were a trio of 7-year-olds. They were Jakob VanKley, Kekoa Schwab and Colt Pucka. Crossing first in the youngest division were Jenna Walker, for the girls, and Kaimana Schwab for the boys, both nine-year-olds. All finishers under 10 years of age received a medal as well.

Emma Bell and Aidan Bowgren took top honors in the 11 to 13 age group while Kassidy Gregory and Jacob Stewart were tops in the 14 to 16 age group. The 17 – 19 winners were Skyla Smolen and Ty Maldonado. Hailey Dilena and Andrew Jankowski won the 20 – 24 bracket while Bianca Koss and Daniel ZikutanskyJasen Egolf were tops in the 25 – 29 group.

Nicole May and Adam Keilman won the 30 – 34 age group. Erin Chapentier and Ethan Plummer crossed the line first for the 35 – 39 age group while Kelly Stewart and Roger Taylor topped the 40 – 44 group. Kathy Bowgren and Daniel Pastrick were the winners in the 45 – 49 bracket while Sherri Mitchell and Paul Jankowski Szabo were atop the 50 – 54 age group. Gloria Sheldon and Ron Krause won the 55 – 59 age group and Ann Jakowski and Wayne Brunk finished ahead in the 60 – 69 group.

Chuck Jankowski, at age 71, was the oldest finisher in the race, completing the course in 37:59.5,to come in in 102nd place overall.